Afrofuturism Rise of the Black Superhero 5/19

Ddb7Xe3VAAEDAXU

Check out today’s event Afrofuturism Rise of the Black Superhero at the Woodson Regional Library, at 1:30 pm. Panelist for the event includes Chelsea Frazier, a Ph.D. candidate, Ytasha Womack author of the Rayla 2212 series and Afrofuturism: The World of Black Sci-fi and Fantasy Culture,  Dr. Stanford Carpenter, and Jiba Anderson. The panel will be moderated by Rachell Montgomery.

Where: Woodson Regional Library, 9525 S. Halsted St.

When: May 19, 2018

Time: 1:30 pm — 3:30 pm

 

Advertisements

Austin Community Family Night 4/20

Check out tonight’s Family Night event with Austin Community Family Center and  Broader Urban Involvement and Leadership Development (BUILD) to help the Austin community. This community event will happen on Friday (April 20) at 4 pm is open for all-ages. Guests can play a variety of activities such as basketball tournaments, dance contests, bingo, and more. Hope to see you there.

Where: 5100 W. Harrison St.

When: April 20, 2018

Time: 4: 00 pm

AUSTINFamilyNight2018

Liberation Imagined at Chicago State University 4/9

Check out tonight’s Liberation Imagined event at Chicago State University. This free event will happen on Monday (April 9) at 6 pm. Since the movie Black Panther was released there has been a lot of talk about the genre that is Afrofuturism as well as what it means to be a black superhero in modern times.  Panelist for the event includes Ashley Woods, illustrator for the Niobe series and Dark Horse Tomb Raider,  Ytasha Womack, author of the Rayla 2212 series and book Post Black,  Stacey Robinson, and Jiba Anderson. Hope to see you there!

Where: Gwendolyn Brooks Library,  9501 S. King Drive

When: April 9, 2018

Time: 6: 00 pm – 8: 00 pm

DZ8TKOpWsAITJO3

Check out Shadow of Destiny on March 13th

DYLWM1DUQAIcV81

Do you enjoy reading diverse stories? Or maybe you’re looking for a new story to add to your archives. Check out Kevin Sorrell‘s latest project Shadow of Destiny on Amazon here.

Sorrell is a full-time writer and creator based in Houston, Texas who’s known for “The Life and Times of Abigail Walker” which is a 2017 Glyph Comics Award nominated webcomic.  The comic is updated on Wednesdays and Fridays and you can read the comic here.

 

 

Limitless Soundz perfoming at The Promontory, Oct. 4th

 

limitless-flyer-template-promontory
Image Credit: Limitless Soundz

 

Hello, hip-hop fans! Limitless Soundz will be performing at The Promontory located at 5311 S. Lake Park  Ave. Limitless Soundz just released his latest album Ignorant Intelligence.  Come on Chi-town let’s kick off this new month the right way. You can purchase tickets here. Doors open for this show at 7pm and the show starts at 8pm. Also, there’s a cover charge of $10 and $25 for VIP.

 

 

Nerdy gifts for Christmas

Christmas is almost here. Trying to shop for your loved ones can be a challenge but what about your nerdy friend? Sometimes it’s almost too overwhelming trying to remember which fandom they’re apart of and what gift would bring them some joy.

Here’s a list of some potential nerdy gifts for the holiday.

lab-beaker-mug

Laboratory Beaker Mug
This is strictly for STEM lovers. Your favorite science teacher can now enjoy a fresh cup of java in a laboratory beaker.
Price: $17.51

dr-who-vinyl

Dr. Who Funko POP! Figures
Make this year’s Christmas a memorable one for your favorite Whovian. Funko POP! has made a variety of fan favorite characters into vinyl figures. They can choose from the 10th Doctor, 11th Doctor, 12th Doctor, 4th Doctor, Adipose, a Cyberman, a Dalek, or even a Weeping Angel.
Price: $9.99

dr-who-coloring-book

Doctor Who Coloring Book
This is for the Whovians. Whether you’re an artist or just looking to provide your sci-fi friend with a different
Price $14.99

wonder-woman-knapsack

Wonder Woman knapsack
This is ideal for fans of Wonder Woman. Fans of the Warrior Princess can store their wallets, smartphones, and other accessories.
Price: $29.95

batmobile-keychain

Batman Batmobile Keychain
This is the perfect gift for fans of the Dark Knight. Now your friend can keep their keys on the iconic 1989 Batmobile that was designed by Anton Furst. Let’s be honest who can deny how cool the Batmobile is.
Price: $9.70

star-wars-multitool-kit

Star Wars Millennium Falcon Multi-Toolkit
This is an ideal gift for Star Wars fans with handyman skills. The Millennium Falcon Multi-Tool Kit is equipped with four hex keys, two screwdrivers (one flat-head and one Phillips), and an adjustable wrench that’s built into the ship’s helm.
Price: $29.99

adventure-time-cookbook

Adventure Time Cookbook
Want to guess what time it is? That’s right it’s Adventure Time! Now you and your kids can spice up the holiday menu with these dishes from the world of Adventure Time.
Price: 29.99

star-trek-trivia

Star Trek 50th Anniversary Trivia Pursuit
This is an ideal gift for your favorite Trekkie. Test your family and friends Star Trek knowledge with over 100 trivia cards. The questions include all five Star Trek shows and the first 10 movies.
Price: 29.99

deathstar-charger

Star Wars Death Star USB Car Charger
Star Wars fans now you can take the Death Star with you wherever you go. You can plug in the USB Car Charger and will be greeted by the voice of Grand Moff Tarkin telling you, “You may fire when ready,” followed by the firing of your laser.This charger has two USB ports and is compatible with iPhones, smartphones, iPads, and other devices.
Price: $14.99

superfight-game

Superfight!CardGame                                                                                                                         Who remembers having those imaginary fights between your favorite superheroes? Well, now you can play out those insane matchups with your family and friends during the holidays. There are five different expansion decks to choose from but the core game deck includes 160 character cards, 340 power/problem cards, and instructions.
Price: 14.99- $34.99

Jamila Woods at Double Door, June 23rd

6.23

 

Hello, music lovers! Jamila Woods will be performing at  Double Door on June 23rd. Woods is a vocalist, poet and author. Come on out and show some love for Chicago’s very own. The Double Door located at 1551 N. Damen Ave. You can purchase your tickets here. Advanced tickets are $10 fee and $15 at the door.  This is an 18+ with a Valid State or Federal ID. The show starts at 7:00 pm. The afterparty will be at Door No.3 at 11:00 pm, and is 21 and over only.

Kamikaze: Volume 1 – Run, Rabbit, Run! on Kickstarter

 

kamikaze-volume-1Attention sci-fi fans and comic lovers! Kamikaze launched a Kickstarter to turn their award-winning webcomic book into a 60-page graphic novel. Team Kamikaze have been working diligently to make this goal become a reality.

Are you in need of a book with a female lead? Or maybe you’re a sci-fi loving adult whose been searching all over for that one book that combines original storytelling and breathtaking artwork. Well if that’s the case Kamikaze is the book for you.

Since launching their campaign they’ve managed to raise over $11K, but they still need your help to reach stretch goals. Check out Kamikaze’s trailer below.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1384244474/kamikaze-volume-1-run-rabbit-run/widget/video.html

Thanks to fans support Team Kamikaze has been able to meet their pledge goal of $9,400. A few of the stretch goals  include the following perks such as embroidered patches, 11×17 guest art prints, and even an animated short. Recently  they’ve reached their second stretch goal.

If you believe in the work of Team Kamikaze spread the word, or donate what you can. You can read the Glyph-Award  winning webcomic here.